FENLAND DISTRICT COUNCIL PRESS RELEASE

May 23, 2019

New Leader for Fenland District Council

Councillor Chris Boden has been elected as the new Leader of Fenland District Council.

The Leader of the Conservative Group and councillor for Bassenhally, Whittlesey, was voted in by members at a full Council meeting today (May 23).

After paying tribute to outgoing Leader Cllr Chris Seaton, Cllr Boden announced his Cabinet members and their portfolios. The Cabinet now consists of:

- Cllr Boden Leader of the Council and Portfolio Holder for Finance
- Cllr Jan French Deputy Leader of the Council
- Cllr Steve Tierney Portfolio Holder for Transformation and Communication
- Cllr Sam Hoy Portfolio Holder for Housing
- Cllr Sam Clark Portfolio Holder for Social Housing and Leisure
- Cllr Chris Seaton Portfolio Holder for Social Mobility and Heritage
- Cllr Peter Murphy Portfolio Holder for Environment
- Cllr Ian Benney Portfolio Holder for Economic Growth
- Cllr Maureen Davis Portfolio Holder for Communities
- Cllr Dee Laws Portfolio Holder for Planning

Cllr Kay Mayor was re-elected as Chairman of the Council, and Cllr Alex Miscandlon has taken on the role of Vice-Chairman.

There were also new appointments to Council committees:

- Overview & Scrutiny Committee Chairman Cllr Alex Miscandlon
- Planning Committee Chairman Cllr David Connor
- Licensing Committee Chairman Cllr Michael Humphrey
- Staff Committee Chairman Cllr David Mason
- Corporate Governance Committee Chairman Cllr John Clark
- Conduct Committee Chairman Cllr Dave Topgood
- Appointments Panel Chairman Chris Boden

ENDS

For more information contact Fenland District Council press office on 01354 622226